Foodieobsessed's Blog



Chicken and dumplings

Chicken and dumplings is comfort soul food for me. My Grandma made it in winter and I love to make it on any rainy day I can get away with. I have tried dozens of recipes for “homemade dumplings” and I have to say I keep coming back to bisquick. I don’t know if it is because it’s always how my Grandma made them or just my personal preference but I just love them!! I used the thyme and bay but also 1 tsp of Penzey’s bouquet garni herb mix. Feel free to add whatever herbs and spices you like!

If you are not worried about calories my Grandma was sinful and would top the dumplings with a few tablespoons of softened butter to make them absolutely rich and decadent!

Chicken and Dumplings
1 tsp olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
2 chicken breasts
2 chicken thighs (skin removed)
1 cup carrots (cut into coins)
1/2 onion (diced)
1 cup celery (chopped)
4 garlic cloves (chopped)
2 russet potatoes (pealed and chopped)
1 tbs butter
1/2 cup white wine
1/4 cup flour
1 bay leaf
1 tsp thyme
6 cups chicken stock (homemade if you gave it or 2 cans of chicken broth and 1 can water)
1 cup frozen peas
Bisquick dumplings (recipe on the back of box)
—–
1. In a large Dutch oven heat olive oil on medium heat until hot. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Place chicken thighs and breasts in oil and brown on both sides.
2. Remove chicken from pan and add butter and vegetables. Season with salt and pepper. Cook 10-12 minute or until onions are translucent. Add chicken back to pan.
3. Dust flour over chicken and vegetables and cook 2-4 minutes. Add white wine and cook down until it is almost gone.
4. Add bay leaf, thyme, and broth and simmer 1-2 hours. Remove chicken and shred.
5. Assemble dumplings. Add chicken and frozen peas.
6. Make sure your broth is simmering (not boiling!). With a spoon drop in dumplings and cover for 10-15 minutes until dumplings are cooked.

*My picture below has some corn in it. I was out of plain peas and added a frozen veggie mix!

Enjoy!!

20110319-054237.jpg

Leave a Reply

