Foodieobsessed's Blog



Simple red sauce to feed a crowd

When I make red sauce, I make A LOT of red sauce. I make enough generally to freeze to dinners worth, make at least a pan of lasagna or ziti (or two), and some for pizza sauce. Because I cook my sauce for along period of time it just makes sense for me to do it this way–but other then the AMOUNT of sauce this is a VERY simple recipe. You can mix up the spices how you like but I keep it simple with just oregano (my favorite) and then season differently for each dish I use it in. This sauce freezes beautifully.

We have what’s called Grocery Outlet where I live in Northern California. I can generally get a great deal on whole canned tomatoes there and that is what I usually do and squish the tomatoes between my fingers. For this particular batch I only had a 10 can of diced tomatoes which works just fine.
Red sauce is a deeply personal thing to you and your family. Feel free to add, take away, and generally make this basic recipe your own. Sometimes I will immersion blend half of it to get a smoother sauce depending on how much the tomatoes break down through the long cooking process.

Simple red sauce

(1) 10 can of diced or whole tomatoes (make sure that they have no added spices, oil, etc. They should be in puree or juice only. Read the ingredients!)

(2) 24 oz cans of diced tomatoes

1 large (softball sized) onion, diced

6 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 TBS olive oil

2 tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tsp red pepper flake

1 TBS kosher salt

1/2 tbs black pepper

1 TBS dried oregano

1. Heat a large *large!* sauce pan over medium heat with olive oil. Add onion and garlic and sautee for five to ten minutes or until onions are translucent. Add red pepper flakes and stir well to let the heat release into the onions.

2. Add vinegar and let cook for 2-3 minues or until it reduces down by half. Add tomatoes slowly (they splatter!). Fill both of the smaller cans with water and add to the mixture.

3. Season with oregano, salt, and pepper. Go easy on it as you can always add more but can’t take it out!

4. Let cook with the lid on for at least two hours. Stir often. I usually cook my sauce for 4-6 hours and generally taste it for acidity. Depending on your tomatoes you may need to add up to 1TBS of sugar to make it less acidic.

5. Portion out sauce to how you would like to use it. I generally freeze it in four cup batches for use later on.

Leave a Reply

