Foodieobsessed's Blog



Sloppy Joe Pasta Toss

I am a sloppy joe addict. I know, they are supposed to be for kids but I just love them! A few years ago I came acrossed a recipe that called for sloppy joe PASTA. You save a little on the bread (I need at least 2 sloppy joes in a sitting to feel satisfied, I don’t know about you!) and you get a nice pasta dish out of the deal. The original recipe called for canned sloppy joe sauce–not one of my favorites. Instead I decided to use my favorite sloppy joe recipe and adapt it for the pasta dish and beefing up the vegetables! I love this dish because it is a cross between my Grandmothers goulash (macaroni, beef, onion, and tomato sauce) and of course the classic sloppy joe. You can mix it up however you like–including using the canned sloppy joe sauce if you want!

This is a GREAT dish for kids and adults alike and so not sloppy!

Sloppy Joe Pasta Toss

1 lb lean (7% or less fat) ground beef (you can easily use turkey!)

1 (small) can tomato paste

1 cup catchup

1/2 cup minced onion

1 cup diced bell peppers (I use frozen multicolored but have used just one red or green pepper)

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 ribs chopped celery

2 tbs sweet relish

1 tbs brown sugar

1/4 tsp chili powder

1 lb rotelle (spiral) pasta

1. Spray pan with cooking spray. Brown beef in a large pan. Discard any extra fat (there shouldn’t be any).

2. Add peppers, onion, celery, and garlic. Sautee for about five minutes or until the vegetables are wilted.

3. Add the remaining ingredients (except pasta). Let simmer slowly (on medium-low) until pasta is ready.

4. Cook pasta to directions on the package, shy about 3 minutes. Add pasta to the ground beef mixture (holding back about 1/2 cup of the pasta water).

5. Cook mixture until the pasta is perfect. You may need to add the pasta water to get the right sauce consistency.

Leave a Reply

