Foodieobsessed's Blog



Lemon Thyme Biscuits

My Grandma was Southern. I have a deep and eternal love of the South and all things Southern… this definitely extends to biscuits in all forms.

Biscuits to me are like any quick bread (muffins, non-yeast bread) and for me it is worth it to throw together my own. I know, I know you can open a can and have them in 10 minutes but do canned biscuits really taste that good? I know they don’t hold a candle to my homemade biscuits! These are savory, salty, and delicious! great for breakfast or dinner. I served these with Ultimate Beef Stew.

Lemon Thyme Biscuits

2 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp lemon zest
3/4 cup half and half*
1 tbs honey
5 tbs cold butter
2 cups AP flour
1 tsp salt
1 tbs baking powder

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

1. Combine lemon juice, zest, half and half, and honey. Let stand 10 minutes until thick.

2. Cut cold butter into small pieces.

3. Combine flour, salt, baking powder In a mixing bowl. Add butter pieces and cut them into flour with pastry cutter or two knives.

4. Whisk wet ingredients and add to flour mixture. Mix until a ball forms.

5. Turn out onto floured board, pat out into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick.

6. Cut dough into 12 equal pieces. Place on cookie sheet and spritz with cooking spray.

7. Bake 12-14 minutes until golden brown.

*If you would like you can substitute the half and half for milk or buttermilk. I would not omit the lemon juice and zest only because they give a great flavor to the biscuits!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Menu 1/20/2010-1/26/2010 « Foodieobsessed's Blog pingbacked on 7 years, 6 months ago

Comments



Leave a Reply

