Foodieobsessed's Blog



Crockpot Chicken Posole

It is raining buckets here in Northern California. I think it is amazing becuase the earth really needs it here. Not to be too hippy dippy but for the last two years we really have been having a lack of rain in the last two to three years and I know the ground and dirt needs the rain. Maybe not all at once, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers! What does rain and cold make me think of? Soup of course.

Some of my favorite soups seem to be from Mexico or Latin America (see my Albondigas soup as well) . Posole is a warm, comforting, delicious soup that has quickly become one of my favorites. Before posole I had no idea how delicious hominy could be (which is the puffed up kernel of corn). This is my own recipe that I pretty much just dumped into the crockpot. It is delicious! You can of course substitute different spices that are your favorites, as well as the side dishes. I love the cabbage to have a lot of crunch left to it and the cilantro and lime at the end are a MUST!

This is DEFINITELY not a traditional posole!

Crockpot Chicken Pasole

2 chicken breasts

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups water (could be all broth)

2 tomato bullion cubes (I found mine at my local Mexican market, you can also use tomato paste)

1 tbs chili powder

1 tsp Mexican oregano (you could definitely use regular if you only have that)

2 tbs adobo powder (can be subbed for cumin/coriandor)

1 tsp garlic powder (could use 1 garlic clove, I didn’t feel like chopping)

1 tsp onion powder (could use onion, see above)

2 cups baby carrots

1 cup sliced peppers (I used frozen)

1 cup corn kernels (I used frozen)

28oz can of white hominy

1/2 head green cabbage, sliced into bite sized pieces

Cilantro and lime for garnish

1. Add everything to the crockpot but chicken, seasoning, and cabbage.

2. Add chicken on top of vegetables. Top with all of the spices and season with salt/pepper to taste. Cook on low for 6-8 hours until the chicken is shreddable.

3. Remove chicken and set aside to shred. Add sliced up cabbage and let cook for 20-30 minutes on low. Add back chicken.

Serve with tortilla chips, cilantro, and lime wedges!

Leave a Reply

