Foodieobsessed's Blog



Brown Sugar Meatloaf

I absolutely adore meatloaf. Pretty much anything that includes ground beef or turkey is going to please me. This meatloaf is one of our favorites. It is sweet and tangy and I enjoy it with some tasty mashed potatoes.

I found this meatloaf years ago. It is a cousin of my favorite brown sugar chili recipe (coming soon). Originally I made it with ground beef but changed it to ground turkey and it was just as good!

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

1 1/4 pound ground lean turkey (or beef)

2 eggs

3/4 cup bread crumbs

1/2 small onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/2 cup water

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 cup brown sugar, plus 2 tbs

1/2 cup ketchup, plus 2 tbs

2 TBS dijon mustard

—–

1.Preheat oven to 375

2. Add bread crumbs, eggs, onions, seasonings, sugar, and water into a mixing bowl. Give a good stir before adding the turkey. Pack into a loaf pan that has been sprayed with spray canola/olive oil or Pam.

3. Top with brown sugar.

4. Add ketcup and mustard, mix lightly with sugar using a spoon.

5. Bake at 375 for 1 hour.


Leave a comment