Foodieobsessed's Blog



Roasted Asparagus and Lemon Risotto

I had a bunch of asparagus just begging to be used in my fridge. I decided to roast it up along with the pear pecan bread for tonights dinner. Here is the recipe! I only started expiramenting with risotto in the last six months or so. I was always under the impression that it was difficult to make. While time consuming it is WELL worth it for a delicious creamy rice dish! I love to make this on a slightly chilly night. Originally I wanted to do a mushroom and asparagus risotto but my mushrooms had been in the fridge too long. Thus the asparagus and lemon risotto was born!

Roasted Asparagus and Lemon Risotto
Roasted Asparagus
1 bunch of asparagus (as thin as you can get) with ends removed.
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp olive oil
Put into preheated 350 degree oven for thirty minutes (until just brown and smelling nutty). Pull out, cut into bite sized pieces, set aside.
Risotto

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 4 cups of chicken stock (I used homemade and added 1/2 cup of water to help with any I might lose while it simmers)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 recipe roasted asparagus cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoons thyme leaves
  • —-
    1. Bring broth to a simmer in a large saucepan but don’t let it boil. Reduce heat to low and keep warm.
    2. Heat butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook the onion about 5 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Add rice and thyme cook for 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Stir in wine and cook until the liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly.
    3. Add 1/2 cup broth and stir constantly until the broth is absorbed; repeat this step six more times, 1/2 cup at a time. Stir in asparagus. Add 1/2 cup broth and stir constantly until the broth is absorbed; repeat until all broth has been added and absorbed. Remove from heat; stir in cheese and juice. Sprinkle with parsley and lemon zest.
    4. The risotto should be nice and creamy. Serve immediatly because it will tighten up! If you like a thicker risotto you can wait a few minutes, if you like it a little loose you can always add more stock.
    **I find it helpful to set my oven timer for twenty minutes when I add the first ladle of stock. That way I can sort of time it out and make sure that I am not over cooking the rice or going too fast with my broth. Thanks to my friend Laura for this great tip!

    Hubs really enjoyed this dish! He said it had a “smokey” flavor. . . perhaps the fresh cracked black pepper I finished it with? It was very bright, tangy, and delicious with the lemon juice and parsley!

    Leave a Reply

